Events News & Updates Tourism Locations

Lagos Photo Festival celebrates 10 years Anniversary



Lagos Photo Festival celebrates 10 years Anniversary

Lagos Photo festival launched in 2010 will celebrate 10 years in with another edition from October 25 to November 15, 2019, in Lagos.

The Photo Festival which is the first and only international arts festival of photography in Nigeria is month-long events that “include exhibitions, workshops, artist presentations, discussions and large scale outdoor prints displayed throughout the city with the aim of reclaiming public spaces and engaging the general public with multifaceted stories of Africa with art fairs and indoor and outdoor exhibitions citywide.

The LagosPhoto 2019  Festival themed “PASSPORTS” aims to establish a community for contemporary photography which will unite local and international artists through images that encapsulate individual experiences and identities from across all of Africa.

“Passports delves into the constraints and prospects of the most defining official documents one can possess. The possession of it confers certain values, ideas, liberties, and restrictions. The absence of it strips one of the same and more, often with far-reaching implications. This year’s edition aims to bring alive an alternative global environment in which artists of different nationalities are invited to explore options of creating a fluid and permeable world, where nationality, gender, and historical imbalances are secondary to identity or community.”

The festival which will be held African Art Foundation, Lagos state, is held annually and features emerging photographers alongside established photographer will feature works by Aadesokan (Nigeria) Halima Abubakar (Nigeria) Toluade Adekuoroye (Nigeria) Isabella Agbaje (Nigeria) Margaret Agbaje (Nigeria) Taibat Ajiboye (Nigeria) Jenevieve Aken (Nigeria) AnAka (Nigeria) Nelly Ating (Nigeria) Olayinka Babalola (Nigeria) David Baptiste (Haitia) Magda Biernat (Poland) Joana Choumali (Cote D’Ivoire) Flavio Cardoso (Angola) Ella Eduozor (Nigeria) Vanessa Endeley (Nigeria) Phillip Fagbeyiro (Nigeria) Alexia Fiasco (France) Rahima Gambo (Nigeria) Maimouna Guerresi (Italy) Kelvin Haizel (Ghana) Dan Halter (Zimbabwe) Chibueze Hermes Iyele ( Nigeria) Mahmood Hojeij (Lebanon) Benedicte Kurzen (French) Mous Lamrabat (Morocco) Rubén Martín de Lucas (Spain) Johnny Miller (South Africa) William Moore (Nigeria) Nengi Nelson (Nigeria) Somi Nwando (Nigeria) Chukwuka Nwobi (Nigeria) Joseph Obanubi (Nigeria) Daniel Obasi (Nigeria) Anthony Obayomi (Nigeria) Eniola Odunuga (Nigeria) Ife Ofulue (Nigeria) Adeolu Osibodu (Nigeria) Gaelen Pinnock (South Africa) Tabita Rezaire (France) Stephen Tayo (Nigeria) Dustin Thierry (Curaçao) Maya-Ines Touam (France/Algeria) Sanne de Wilde (Belgium) Nguher Zaki (Nigeria)

The event promises to be an unforgettable one. For more information about the festival please visit

About the author

Kehinde Adegboyega

Leave a Comment